File Details

File Size4.8 MB
LicenseOpen Source
Operating SystemWindows 7/8/10/2000/Vista/XP
Date AddedAugust 22, 2017
Total Downloads83,992
PublisherAres
HomepageAres

Download Ares 2.5.7 for Windows for free, without any viruses, from Uptodown. Try the latest version of Ares for Windows. Ares Download Music Review: (. CLICK HERE FOR FREE ARES MUSIC DOWNLOAD SOFTWARE.) Navigating the Ares interface is easy for anyone who has used Kazaa or LimeWire. Ares follows the same basic format, placing navigation icons along the top for search, view, and the like. It isn't exactly what we'd call attractive; it's more.

Publisher's Description

Ares is a peer to peer file sharing program that enables users to share any digital file including images, audio, video, software, documents, etc. You may now easily publish your files through the Ares Network. As a member of the network, you can also search and download just about any digital media file. You can also join or host chat rooms and meet new friends.

smaragdus reviewed v2.2.5 on Jul 24, 2013

Please either download Ares via FTP or use the following link:
http://heanet.dl.sourcef...egular225_installer.exe
Otherwise you will get an AD-WARE Bundled Stub Dwonloader.

some guy reviewed v2.2.0 on Jan 21, 2013

good program dead network

JustinUT79 reviewed v2.1.5 on Feb 9, 2010

This is the cleanest, fastest, and smallest P2P program available. I am very pleased to see its authors are once again continually releasing updated versions.

some guy reviewed v2.1.5 on Feb 9, 2010

for this type of p2p best in it's class

bobad reviewed v2.1.0 on Nov 26, 2008

Absolutely great P2P program. No Java required. No spyware. Easy configuraiton. Fast downloads. I can find exactly what I want and have it playing within 30-40 seconds, so it's really the easiest way to grab MP3's. What more could you ask?

radiomaffia reviewed v2.1.0 on Nov 25, 2008

When P2P progz have support for torrents they are mostly blacklisted by torrentforums and why do you think they support torrents?Yes : P2P itself is so out-of-date
There are so many other ways find youre MP3, video or whatever, ever heard of tagoo ru (?)or Bit-Che torrentsearcher, katz cd, newsgroups, the list goes on on and on.. music& and more everywhere. P2P is so something of the past..
The only thing that is a nice feature is that has chatforums, but also there are soo many alternatives like IRC Chat

serrebi101 reviewed v2.1.0 on Nov 25, 2008

Love it! Everyone should at least give it a try!!

Landsnes reviewed v2.0.9 on Jul 8, 2007

Absolutely brilliant file sharing program! I find this program far better than other file sharing programs that I've used! I usually get many hits when I search for various files and the files download fast. It also handles torrent files very well!

RaGhul reviewed v2.0.9 on May 17, 2007

I hope not to offend anyone who rated this highly. I prefer not to engage in a heated 'back-and-forth' exchange. I just speak from my own experience as the manager of a small internet center.
At first, I thought this would be a good alternative to LimeWire and KaZaa, being that it's OpenSource. However, every time a customer downloads and runs this app, our network goes down.
You would probably like to say that this is due to a poor wiring/configuration job. I might even agree with you, except for the fact that Cabos causes no such problems.
After I turn off the computer running Ares, the internet comes back for the rest. And scanning with Spyware Doctor finds a few nasties, too.
Please use with caution.

the artist reviewed v2.0.8 on Mar 27, 2007

Absolutely looove this program!!! It's clearly the best of the best!!! Download speeds are blazing (obviously, the more stars a file has the faster it gets), it's clean from malware, it's light and rock stable and interface is modern, fast, responsive... A true example.
My wish came true by the way, about a dark and a light skin... well, it was a predictable feature maybe.

Your Rating

smaragdus reviewed v2.2.5 on Jul 24, 2013

Please either download Ares via FTP or use the following link:
http://heanet.dl.sourcef...egular225_installer.exe
Otherwise you will get an AD-WARE Bundled Stub Dwonloader.

some guy reviewed v2.2.0 on Jan 21, 2013

good program dead network

JustinUT79 reviewed v2.1.5 on Feb 9, 2010

This is the cleanest, fastest, and smallest P2P program available. I am very pleased to see its authors are once again continually releasing updated versions.

some guy reviewed v2.1.5 on Feb 9, 2010

for this type of p2p best in it's class

bobad reviewed v2.1.0 on Nov 26, 2008

Absolutely great P2P program. No Java required. No spyware. Easy configuraiton. Fast downloads. I can find exactly what I want and have it playing within 30-40 seconds, so it's really the easiest way to grab MP3's. What more could you ask?

radiomaffia reviewed v2.1.0 on Nov 25, 2008

When P2P progz have support for torrents they are mostly blacklisted by torrentforums and why do you think they support torrents?Yes : P2P itself is so out-of-date
There are so many other ways find youre MP3, video or whatever, ever heard of tagoo ru (?)or Bit-Che torrentsearcher, katz cd, newsgroups, the list goes on on and on.. music& and more everywhere. P2P is so something of the past..
The only thing that is a nice feature is that has chatforums, but also there are soo many alternatives like IRC Chat

serrebi101 reviewed v2.1.0 on Nov 25, 2008

Love it! Everyone should at least give it a try!!

Landsnes reviewed v2.0.9 on Jul 8, 2007

Absolutely brilliant file sharing program! I find this program far better than other file sharing programs that I've used! I usually get many hits when I search for various files and the files download fast. It also handles torrent files very well!

RaGhul reviewed v2.0.9 on May 17, 2007

I hope not to offend anyone who rated this highly. I prefer not to engage in a heated 'back-and-forth' exchange. I just speak from my own experience as the manager of a small internet center.
At first, I thought this would be a good alternative to LimeWire and KaZaa, being that it's OpenSource. However, every time a customer downloads and runs this app, our network goes down.
You would probably like to say that this is due to a poor wiring/configuration job. I might even agree with you, except for the fact that Cabos causes no such problems.
After I turn off the computer running Ares, the internet comes back for the rest. And scanning with Spyware Doctor finds a few nasties, too.
Please use with caution.

the artist reviewed v2.0.8 on Mar 27, 2007

Absolutely looove this program!!! It's clearly the best of the best!!! Download speeds are blazing (obviously, the more stars a file has the faster it gets), it's clean from malware, it's light and rock stable and interface is modern, fast, responsive... A true example.
My wish came true by the way, about a dark and a light skin... well, it was a predictable feature maybe.

ModderXManiac reviewed v2.0.6 on Feb 14, 2007

The best P2P app around in terms of network efficiency and upload bandwidth utilization, this has the fastest downloads of any client, not one single gnutella/limewire client has the speed this does.
I've been a proud user of this client for over 3 years, and it's never let me down. And as for you people griping about then removing web browsing, it was just just IE integration, so in essence you had a stripped down browsing experience, it's not like it's going to be the only app you need to use, that's why it minimizes to task bar.
The network could be more responsive, all else the program is very stable and the download rates are excellent; I can pull 450kb/s downloads on a 5mbps connection, most of my torrents don't get that kind of speed.

robertguda reviewed v2.0.6 on Feb 13, 2007

@GuyHersch
Thanks a million for the right link ! it is still not working right through betanews. still one of the best programs to download single music files.
with or without browser, and with or without the 'new' interface. it performs rock steady.

GuyHersh reviewed v2.0.6 on Feb 13, 2007

Version 2.06 is currently linked incorrectly at BetaNews, heres the correct link:
http://downloads.sourcef...392198&big_mirror=0

Diam0nd reviewed v2.0.6 on Feb 13, 2007

Look nice, even though I'm not into p2p so much. Open Source > *

the artist reviewed v2.0.3 on Jan 24, 2007

Yes, the new UI... I just don't like the COLOR of it but it's great. It's indeed very similar to the former skin (for the complainers to see).
Ares should ship with a DARK (current) and a LIGHT theme (like the former) to choose from. That's my thought.
I just love the program.

Free

GhoS reviewed v2.0.2 on Jan 22, 2007

Have always liked this program but....
The new UI is nearly exactly like WMP11 and while I like that interface, this program shouldn't by default be nearly exactly like another program. If someone wants to skin it that way fine, but its too confusing.
I just find Ares flexible enough to be my media player, which I suppose is the intention of changing the UI as so.
The other thing though is it broke the few skins I had for Ares. Never a good idea to break things with new releases.
So the program is still good, but I don't like the direction of the UI.

donmor46 reviewed v2.0.0 on Jan 9, 2007

Still like the program, but I don't like the browser being removed. Liked the idea of browsing and not running another program.
One of the best along with Cabos.
me

TheJMT reviewed v2.0.0 on Jan 5, 2007

Changes:
* Updated skin engine and UI (removed browser, changed aspect of playlist, main window, tabs, etc)
* Updated asyncEx core
* Fixed utf8 parsing error in chat /url command
Interface looks like WMP 11 now...personally, i'm not too fond of it, but the program itself is still outstanding

RaGhul reviewed v1.9.5 on Dec 7, 2006

Funny how one person makes some silly comments, then other people chime in and validate him. Forums that should be used for a particular purpose turn into a session of Congress (along with the 5-yr-old behavior and temper-tantrums). So, without FURTHUR validation...
Great app. No, this is not the OLD, spyware-filled Ares. It's a new, opensource version.
I agree, torrents are the way to go. But sometimes, you just want one song. I had Bearshare Lite to fill the void after Napster, but now the Lite (and even Pro) version have spies. This and Cabos make great PC stocking stuffers for that purpose.

Nikkie reviewed v1.9.4 on Nov 14, 2006

Btw, To the guy who said 'ret***s WITHOUT A HISTORY!'
Actually,We do have a history and it stems from escaping persecution from europe.The majority of americans are of europian descent.
Read a bit.Don't be afraid to educate yourself.If the people around you are like this too,Help them out.
Try the wiki for a run down.
Though,What does this have to do with ares?
You seem a bit slow,imo.You should have that checked out.
Sorry for your troubles..Do take care :)

Nikkie reviewed v1.9.3 on Nov 11, 2006

Using torrents and a program like this are not used for the same reason.If you are looking for single files,you would have a better time using ares or such p2p programs .I only use bt for the heavy work (games,albums,movies etc.)
You guys must understand...not everyone downloads whole albums.i do but not everyone.

some guy reviewed v1.9.3 on Oct 24, 2006

nice software but the network has very few on it.
Good to grab a song , other then that BT way to go.

linkdup reviewed v1.9.3 on Oct 23, 2006

Thanks buddy. We love you too.
Ares? I say stay away from anything that doesn't start with a tor and and with a rent.

Master- reviewed v1.9.2 on Jul 26, 2006

Thats a fake site along with adware. The real site for it is aresgalaxy.sourceforge.net

Shazril reviewed v1.9.1 on Jul 25, 2006

confused between http://www.officialares.com/ and http://sourceforge.net/projects/aresgalaxy/
simple application, fast connectivity and speed.wide selection of mp3s too. thumbs for the developers.

slimy reviewed v1.9.1 on May 31, 2006

Ares is a pretty solid application with a nice network to back it up. I would recommend it, thumbs up to the creators!

Nikkie reviewed v1.9.1 on May 30, 2006

I don't use this program but i have to give respect to it . It works and it has a very nice network .

serrebi101 reviewed v1.9.1 on May 4, 2006

The dht network in this version and later seems to have been improved on it's acuracy. If you've had troubles searching for rarer files, give it a try again. I think you will be plesently surprised. Ares is a great file sharing program. Free, open sourced, no spyware, what more do you need? this and Utorrent is all I need.

Dricon reviewed v1.9.0 on Mar 5, 2006

Well this program could be a bit better on the download speeds but other than that this program owns. It has a few problems and takes a minute or two to connect and thats what I mean by download speeds. I have been using Bearshare Lite which Im not sure if Im going to go back to now that I finally got good ol' Ares to work.
Suggestion:
Make it where the user can go to bitziticket to check to see if the files valid or not.
Keep it up!

niknet reviewed v1.9.0 on Feb 19, 2006

Great Program! Very Fast Search And Download!

some guy reviewed v1.8.9 on Dec 24, 2005

great program I see they fixed the login wait time bravo....
only bad thing all the p2p networks are just fake files and virus's I found it good for songs, other then that bittorent still the best p2p out their..
my 2 cents....

Blackhole8746 reviewed v1.8.9 on Dec 24, 2005

Nice, nice...

WeR4saken reviewed v1.8.9 on Dec 23, 2005

Changes:
* changes in DHT search engine
* downloads disk spaces allocated all at once
* download's pieces are downloaded in random order
* bitfield packet added to partial filesharing
* PFS uploads displayed in upload listview
* ICH bar in bighints shows chunks

GimieGimieGimie reviewed v1.8.5 on Oct 8, 2005

Good update, i just wish they will update their 'lite' addition already!

Master- reviewed v1.8.5 on Oct 6, 2005

Nice update! 4/5

Ulmo reviewed v1.8.5 on Oct 6, 2005

When a file is downloading by many users, it is extremely fast !
If the network support as many users as Edonkey or Kad, they will be definitely replaced.

ModderXManiac reviewed v1.8.5 on Oct 6, 2005

Excellent. Fast network, ad free, and a very flexible client.
Hey, BETANEWS, AresGalaxy is Open-Source. Look on sourceforge in the top 10 active projects, this is under it.

Master- reviewed v1.8.3 on Sep 26, 2005

Simply one of the best.
Just one thing is bad that it cant download whole directorys. :(

GimieGimieGimie reviewed v1.8.1 on Jul 26, 2005

Excellent p2p software, i've been using Ares for over a year now, and it never fails to deliver.
This app is mostly good for popular songs and movies, software is so so, download speeds are always excellent and the software is stable.
Like people have previously said before me, sometimes Ares takes up to a couple of minutes to connect up to the network.
But downloading a new edition from their website fixes the problem every time.
I use Ares Lite for my song/movie cravings, anything else, i use BitTorrent and e-mule.
Why limit yourself to just one program hey? :P
Btw - Ares Lite v2.0 is out now, wake up betanews!

TheJMT reviewed v1.8.1 on Jul 13, 2005

Ares is DEFINITELY the best p2p ever released. Amazingly fast search results and i can almost ALWAYS find what i'm looking for, and i mainly search for rare, hard to find music, like Sleepytime Gorilla Museum, Dog Fashion Disco, He is Legend, etc. The download speeds are awesome. I've been using Ares for over a year and a half now and i've never been disappointed. Connection sometimes takes a little bit, but usually it's fixed if you download the latest version of Ares from the official ares website - www.aresgalaxy.org (they update the 1.8.1 version by fixing connection problems all the time)

ccg reviewed v1.8.1 on Apr 25, 2005

I don't understand people who say this is the best p2p ever. I've downloaded and tested it several times, several versions, ever since it came out and just now, and I just don't see why people are enthausiastic about it. Shareaza is a much, much better p2p client that links to gnutella, edonkey, g2 and can find many, many more files than ares. It's much more usable too. What is it about ares that people get too excited about?

Lt_Master reviewed v1.8.1 on Apr 4, 2005

Well. Ares dont have Ads like Shareaze have.

net_thunder reviewed v1.8.1 on Mar 4, 2005

This is a really neat piece if software. I've tried everything except soulseek and I've come to the perfect combination:
Ares is the best place for rarities and music.
Bittorrent and DC++ for large files Bittorrent being easier!
Ares has nice interface too!

2xG reviewed v1.8.1 on Dec 27, 2004

First, i'll say that i've tried a lot of the stuff out there. Among others:
- soulseek
- Kazaa (lite and not lite :( )
- morpheus
- limewire
- emule
- bittorent
- a couple of others, i dont remember.
All of these had at least one problem(xcept bitorrent, that i use with ARES). Either they were too ressource-intensive, or they didnt have enought content, or i had connecting problems, or they had spyware.
Then I tried Ares. It has no spyware, it has all the files i want, it can run for hours on end on my comp, and no connection problems.
Just to giev oyu an idea, I've downloaded about 2 gb of music since i got ARes, and I have never seen a file that had at least 2 users fail. Never. And there were only three one-user files that never finished.
Sure, Ares my not have what you're looking for, but in my experience, it's one of the best out there.
I use lite version.

Kukac reviewed v1.8.1 on Nov 6, 2004

I'm amazed that previous reviewers get so excited about this program lacking ad/spyware. Nice, it's freeware, but there're a bunch of open sourced p2p clients/networks with larger communities. I'd never call this the 'best' client ever before having tried out one of the more popular networks like BitTorrent, eDonkey2k, DirectConnect.

Nikkie reviewed v1.8.1 on Jul 29, 2004

Its ok . not too fast but if you like very well known bands this is for you . its a very nice network and its not full of crapware .

terry12591 reviewed v1.0 Build 2935 on Jun 30, 2004

I tried everything...from Kazaa Lite,WinMX,Soulseek,Kazaa..i already have Ares and Kazaa lite on my computer now but i wouldnt **** with kazaa lite ever again.
1st. Great Music and fast searches!
2nd. The music downloads are very fast
3rd. If ur waiting for your music to download theres a chat program built into it

greg.douglas reviewed v1.0 Build 2935 on Jun 6, 2004

Best P2p yet!! No ad-aware- unless you choose to install optional software. Admitedly this should be more obivious to the user that Navhelper is totally optional.

NoahBerman reviewed v1.8.1 Build 2926 on Dec 20, 2003

I have tested almost EVERY p2p and gnutella client. And I have to say that this is the one. This have No spyware adware, or ads. That is as long and you deselect navhelp for the installation. ARes is clean, smooth, attractive, have an intergrated webbrowser, and is low on system resources!

lion7718 reviewed v1.8.1 on Jan 21, 2003

Ares Build #2887...Ares just keeps getting better & better.
Glad to see the Bandwidth Throttle removed & replaced by numbers. I have been with Ares from the beginning, and it just keeps improving...good job.

Ares is a web browser and allows you to resume downloads. Ares uses a system that can be used as a web server, so it's like exchanging files. This is an option that includes the application by an automatic DNS update. You can use Ares as video and audio player. The author claims that the software is free from spyware and advertising. Download old versions of Ares. Old versions. Download music, videos, and files quickly and without errors. Previous versions.

Review

Ares is an open source P2P sharing application in which you can interchange your files with other users. But it is not only a BitTorrent client—Ares also includes some other online services that make it interesting for general users, such as the Internet radio Shoutcast support, or the free built-in player for audio and video.

The process for downloading a file is quite simple. The application brings you a quick-search field in which you can look for any kind of archive you want to get, and Ares will show all the available files on its server. Additionally, you can also open torrent content files in order to get exactly the content you want, to avoid fakes by using sources you are confident with.

Old Version Ares 2.0.9 Download

Ares works automatically since it requires no configuration at all to successfully share your archives

Ares can work behind the firewalls you have set in order to protect your system. This allows the application to perform fast downloads without having to configure its network settings. In this sense, Ares works automatically, since it requires no configuration at all for successfully sharing your archives. In order to improve the speed rate, the application gets the files that are queued from several users at the same time, using different segments of the target archive. This allows it to not overload users’ connections, optimizing your resources.

Additional functions

In order to make it a recommendable program, the developers of Ares have included some free functions that enhance the users’ experience while using the application. This P2P utility includes a powerful file manager that allows you to organize the archives you acquire into different categories. In this way you can have your system folders ordered before finishing the download of a file.

Ares Lite Free Music Download

Ares includes in addition a chat service, similar to IRC clients, in which you can get to know new people and ask them about their favorite music, movies and games. These chats are usually sorted by concrete themes or language, so if you want to discover more about the Internet you will be always welcome in these chat rooms.

Although Ares is a very simple application, it includes a multimedia player to instantly reproduce the content you get from the peer-to-peer network. This function is compatible with popular formats, both video and audio. In the same option, you can access streaming radio stations that use the Shoutcast service.

Ares 3.1 Features

Here you can find listed the main characteristics of Ares:

  • Fast P2P decentralized sharing network for accessing any kind of digital content as long as users have it on their computers
  • No need for further configuration , since it works behind your Internet firewall
  • It includes chat rooms for getting into different groups according to your interests
  • Built-in multimedia player for listening to music or watching videos you acquire, and playing online radio stations
  • Ares is completely open-source, a feature that allows you to modify its features any way you like
  • A great variety of skins are available to customize the application, adapting it to your likes

If you want to learn more about Ares, you can check its developers’ website through this link.

System Requirements

These are the requirements for installation of Ares on your system:

  • Operating system: Windows 98 or later
  • Processor: Pentium III or similar
  • Memory: 128 MB RAM
  • HDD: 6.5 MB free space on disk

Music Download Ares Users

Search and download anything from DivX to MP3 music

  • Ares 2.3.9

    Date released: 16 Feb 2016 (3 years ago)

  • Ares 2.3.8

    Date released: 25 Dec 2015 (3 years ago)

  • Ares 2.3.7

    Date released: 30 Nov 2015 (4 years ago)

  • Ares 2.3.6

    Date released: 26 Oct 2015 (4 years ago)

  • Ares 2.3.5

    Date released: 15 Oct 2015 (4 years ago)

  • Ares 2.3.4

    Date released: 07 Oct 2015 (4 years ago)

  • Ares 2.3.3

    Date released: 29 Sep 2015 (4 years ago)

  • Ares 2.3.2

    Date released: 28 Aug 2015 (4 years ago)

  • Ares 2.3.1

    Date released: 05 Aug 2015 (4 years ago)

  • Ares 2.3.0

    Date released: 19 Aug 2014 (5 years ago)

  • 2

Ares Free Download 2.1.7


Join our mailing list

Ares Free Download 2.1.7

Stay up to date with latest software releases, news, software discounts, deals and more.

Download Old Version Of Ares

Subscribe

Music Download Ares P2p

Ares 2.1.7 free. download full Version

Ares 2.1.7 free. download full Version

Ares Free Music Download For Mac

Ares Free Download Music And Videos


Coments are closed

Recent News

  • Mp3 Converter Simple Download
  • Download Facebook Mp3 Online
  • Thunderstorm Background Music Free Download

Scroll to top